Archive for March 5th, 2012

March 5, 2012

Falsetto Ukulele Concerto Kazoo!

I am signing up for a really cool opportunity.  I have finally learned that when the Universe presents these opportunities to you, you have to say YES!  Or even HECK YES!  So, in order to participate in said opportunity, I had to fill out an online submission form.  I spent the.  ENTIRE.  morning working on this submission.  I was using flowery poetic language.  I was witty.  I was endearing.  I poured heart and soul into this form.  But, in typical fashion, I had about 30 other windows open.  And, I was working on an ancient computer that won’t support Pandora Radio, so I was listening to a song on Youtube.  The same song.  Over and over ad nauseam.  Mind you, I wasn’t watching the video that goes with the song, which is both brutal and graphic, just listening to the tunes…If you’re curious, here’s the soundtrack to my morning.  Be forewarned, you might just want to close your eyes and listen.  I mean, it’s really, really brutal.  I don’t understand it.  But for the brave of heart and solid of stomach, check it out  HERE

At any rate, the song ended (again), and as I went to click the Youtube tab, I inadvertently clicked the “google” button, which was a little bar imbedded on page I was working on.  I saw the little spiral that tells me the computer is thinking.  And what it’s thinking is “oh, she’s done on this page and wants to go to Google”.  No, NO!  Abort!  I frantically hit the back button and returned to… a blank submission form…  I had a few very short words to say to my computer.  Can you guess what I might have said?  The caption is a clue…

Falsetto Ukulele Concerto Kazoo!!

So I re-wrote everything.  Well, first I ate six chips ahoy cookies.  Then I re-wrote it.  I was slightly less witty.  My writing, decidedly less flowery.  But, finally finished, I clicked “submit” and….

ERROR!

ERROR!!

ERROR!!!

WHAT!!  I hit retry.  Yellow Triangle.  I hit retry two more times.  Triangle, Triangle.  On the third try, I was re-directed back to the submission form…which was, once again, blank.  In a panic I emailed the powers that be for this particular email form, and was giving the address for the communications director.  I wrote him, explaining my plight.  I then rewrote the submission form a third time.  I was succinct.  I was to the point.  I was not flowery.  I was not witty.  Ultimately I had to pare it WAY down or else pull out giant tufts of my own hair.  It may well have been the best iteration of it as I’d had so much time to edit.  I hit submit.

Yellow.  Triangle.

I retried in thrice and again, returned to blank form.

In military parlance, Whisky.  Tango.  Foxtrot!?!

I had, at least, smartened up this go-around, and copied the finished form into a word document before submitting.  So, I went to the less ancient computer (the one that DOES support Pandora Radio) and copy, paste, repeat.

You can't be serious...

At this point, I’ve been at it for five hours.  That is not an exaggeration.  That is an actual fact.  I noticed that my gmail tab indicated a new message and to my immense relief, it was from the communications director.  Here’s what he said:

“Hello erin,

I’m not sure why the server is giving you so much trouble.  I haven’t heard about any other issues like this from others who submitted the form, and it appears to be working from our side.

However, rest assured, we have received your submission.”

THANK YOU!

The real question…is 3:23 pm EST too early to start drinking?